Osaka to Kyoto, March 7 - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Yaru Vries - WaarBenJij.nu Osaka to Kyoto, March 7 - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Yaru Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

Osaka to Kyoto, March 7

Door: Yaru

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaru

07 Maart 2020 | Japan, Kyoto

10:25PM JST - “Futuristic Capsule hotel (and a little bit of Kyoto)”

Good afternoon! Today we travelled from Osaka to Kyoto which was about a 40min-60min ride by train. It’s super nice to see that the bigger cities have really good public transport as we could travel from the closest station nearby our hotel in Osaka to the closest one in Kyoto without having to change trains!

It’s probably around 3PM-3:30PM in the Netherlands when I post this~ It’s almost bedtime again and I’m writing from inside my capsule.
‘Capsule Yaru? What do you mean?’ Well, exactly what I said, my capsule XD We’re currently in Kyoto’s Nine Hours which is a hotel where you don’t get a room like usual but a capsule which is your ‘bedroom’ (See photos). It’s actually quite cozy but I wouldn’t recommend it if you suffer from claustrophobia. You have acces to a light which can be dimmed and a natural alarm which is light that will slowly grow brighter until you wake up I think - first night here so I don’t know for sure yet. I’m actually kind of scared I will not wake up from the light because I am a very heavy sleeper XD and will sometimes not even wake up from a very loud ringing alarm... there’s a rule that you have to check out at 10AM every morning and I’m just hoping I won’t oversleep. I don’t know what the consequences are if you don’t check out by 10AM.

Anyway you might wonder where our luggage will go since you only seem to be getting a capsule. Well each capsule has a number and on another floor there are lockers which correspond to the numbers. There you can store your luggage. It’s not much and if your suitcase is too big you’ll have to leave it behind at the Lobby under a desk. Mine was luckily small enough but Jo-Anne had to leave her luggage downstairs. The capsules are on the 5th floor and the lockers on the 3rd. The locker is not really big and you don’t have a lot of space to open your suitcase to get some clothes or other stuff so I’m glad we’re only staying 2 days so we can still experience such a hotel but not be very uncomfortable XD if you’re backpacking I think a Capsule hotel like this is a really conventional and cheap choice of stay, for suitcase carriers like us a little bit less but I think that’s also bc we have 2 suitcases instead of just 1.

We arrived at Nine Hours around 1PM and hung out in the hotel till about 3PM. We took it easy today as we were a bit tired from traveling. After we decided to explore Kyoto near our hotel. We visited Yasaka shrine and saw a lot of people wearing traditional clothing like Kimono’s and Furisodes. The clothing looks really cute and they have pretty hair ornaments. We have yet to see a real Geisha or Maiko but we have about 1,5week for that ;)
Kyoto is considerably more crowded than Osaka. I guess we’re building up to the busy streets of Tokyo XD but I think it’s also because we really are more in the center of Kyoto, in Osaka we were more South. Although the busy streets it is very handy to be more towards the center as a lot of things are on walking distance now! But Kyoto is big and we’ll of course visit landmarks which are too far away to just walk to.
For dinner we decided to walk through Pontocho Alley which is said to be one of the most atmospheric dining areas of Kyoto! Atmospheric it was but a lot of local menus which we were unable to read and didn’t feel like dealing with that today- and maybe because it were all really expensive meal sets since it’s a touristic spot. In the end we went to a Gyoza bar which was a great choice! They had a lot of different Gyoza’s and for really cheap too! Delicious!

After that we returned to the hotel and got ready for bed. Here it’s required to leave your shoes in shoe-lockers at the entrance and roam the hotel with specially provided slippers. They also provide pajamas, towels and toothbrushes with toothpaste. It’s really nice!

Fun fact: In Japan they drive on the other side of the road just like in England? I didn’t know that?!?? I’ve noticed first day that the steering wheels of the cars were on the other side but it only hits me now that they drive on the other side of the road too LOL. Tho it doesn’t apply for pedestrians... Jo-Anne and I keep trying to walk on the ‘right’ side of the sidewalk but everyone is walking everywhere so it’s just a game of avoiding and zigzagging XD I also almost bumped into someone because I got distracted. There was a karaoke bar and someone was behind the window dancing really enthusiastically, I was so distracted by him that I kept walking while looking at him and almost bumped into an employee who was standing outside trying to reel people in XD luckily a full frontal attack was avoided.

I also still suffer from side effects of the flight as my balancing organ is all messed up and keeps making the ground beneath my feet move. All the escalators here aren’t really helping but I really hope it’ll go away soon. It’s less than the first few days but it’s still here :(

Well that was it for today! I don’t really know the planning for tomorrow but we’re hoping for something we can do inside as the weather forecast says it’ll rain a lot tomorrow. (All the musea are closed which is a pity)

ありがとう (ございます)
A-ri-ga-to(u) (go-zai-mas-u)
~ Thank you!

~ Yaru

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Japan, Kyoto

Yaru

Profile to save and cherish all the experiences and stories from Japan! - Japan, March 2020

Actief sinds 19 Jan. 2020
Verslag gelezen: 142
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2921

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Maart 2020 - 31 Maart 2020

JAPAN2020

Landen bezocht: