Kyoto, March 8 - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Yaru Vries - WaarBenJij.nu Kyoto, March 8 - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Yaru Vries - WaarBenJij.nu

Kyoto, March 8

Door: Yaru

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Yaru

08 Maart 2020 | Japan, Kyoto

10:43 JST - “A chill & rainy day”

Well, sleeping in a capsule hotel wasn’t bad. I actually quite enjoyed it, you have some privacy if you’re with travel companions and a place to chill a bit if needed. Me as an introvert very much likes that as I need to recharge sometimes like today.

We woke up around 8:30. I had set my light alarm around 8:00 and I actually woke up from it, tho I fell asleep again hahahha so yeah... At least I know I will wake from it so now the art is to actually get up. But well, I got woken up my Jo-anne who send me mutiple messages so my phone vibrated quite a lot XD we got ready and left the hotel searching for a place to have breakfast as we didn’t book hotels with breakfast in Kyoto. Beforehand we had already searched for a few places to have breakfast so we picked a cafe from out list and went on our way. We choose the ‘Kawa Cafe’ which is about a 10min walk from our hotel. It’s located next to a river and it was really cute! We were seated facing the river which had a beautiful view even though it rained + there was a heron sitting on the balcony staring at us hahaha, that was a fun view. The breakfast itself was absolutely delicious!! (See photos) Scrambled eggs with either bacon or salmon salad, pancakes with maple syrup, yoghurt, orange juice and either tea or coffee! Very tasty and super cute. The owner was very kind and spoke english~ They also had a cat walking around which was adorable! I think we’ll go there again for breakfast somewhere this week ;)

After that we wanted to do something indoors, still musea are closed so that wasn’t an option. Then we saw that there was an Aquarium about 30min walk away from us and we checked the site to see if it was closed due to precautions, it didn’t say so so we started walking. However once we arrived the Aquarium was closed... All that walking for nothing :,) we decided to take a break and sit down in a park across the Aquarium and chilled there for a bit. Once again we were searching around on the internet for something indoors or at least roofed in and we found Nishiki market! Which is just like (let’s see if you still know) Kuromon market in Osaka but then in Kyoto XD Streetfood and many other stands and vendors all in a long street with a roof over it! It’ so nice a lot of shopping street have a roof over it which is really nice if it’s raining or there’s a strong wind. Anyway we walked around there and tried some streetfood here and there. Jo-anne bought a strawberry Mochi with red bean paste filling! It tasted really nice.

I got a bit tired and we decided to head back to the hotel. Not very interesting here hahaha I just sat in my capsule for like an hour or two, I was just really not feeling like walking around more XD I just needed to chill for a bit and rest as everything was a bit much. So I chilled there as Jo-anne went on a search to try and find a good mask as she still is a bit stuffy from a cold.
Well to make up for the boring hours here I’m going to talk a bit about the toilets here hahahah I’m so sorry if you were eating while reading this but it’s just kind of fascinating - I’m going a bit into detail so just a heads up (skip to the next paragraph if you don’t want to read it! I get it, ‘Yaru why would you even write about something like that’; well because I think it’s interesting if you experience it for the first time)~ :P Maybe you already know but toilets here are really advanced. The first time I sat down I got scared hahahahha The seats are heated and like I didn’t expect that, every toilet seat is heated, even public ones. So you’re nice and warm while visiting the toilet XD The toilet also has a panel with quite a lot of buttons, each for a different feature. You can change the temperature of the seat-heating, choose if you want to have more privacy by turning on some music so nobody hears you take a poop, turn on a deodorant and there is one thing which is really new. Most of the things I said differs per toilet if they have it or not but one thing they all have is a bidet. A little water spray which will clean your nether-regions for you XD If you think about it it’s actually really sanitary since wiping might not always help ‘clean’ it all. Though you’ll have to try and close off all the gaps of the toilet seat as the spray might splash off against you and hit the back of the toilet (Totally not speaking out of own experience, what are you talking about????) Anyway don’t worry, you don’t have to use it as there’s also always toilet paper, you won’t be left with a wet bottom hahahha. Also sometimes the toilet will flush for you as some have a sensor which recognizes when you stand up, it’ll wait a few seconds and flush for you if you’re not quick enough. Pretty handy if you ever forget to flush, the next user won’t have to deal with what you left behind. I’ll attach a photo of the panel in the toilet of the Nine Hours hotel!

Okay enough about toilets XD Jo-anne came back from her quest for masks unsuccessfully and I crawled out of my capsule to go and grab some dinner together! Of course we were distracted by a lot of shops and thus got dinner a little bit later than normal. There was a Kpop store and of course we had to go in. I saw something I really wanted for a long time and bought it hehe. I worked hard for the money and now I get to spend it! I’m not sorry~ Also mom, dad, if you’re reading this I put the postcard for grandpa in the mailbox so hopefully it’ll arrive soon.
Around 7PM we sat down at a very atmospheric restaurant and we ordered a meal set. (You get so much food for so less money, crazy) We both had the meal set with Shredded beef ribs on top of rice, miso soup, salad, Chicken nan nan, Tofu and pickles. For one set, including tax, it was about ¥1078 which equals €9,06, super freaking cheap for what we got (See photos)! I couldn’t even finish it all although I really wanted to. I don’t think you can ever choose a wrong restaurant here, maybe if you really want to try something freakish but the restaurants and bars here have all their food and plates displayed with fake food and it’s super handy as you can see what they have in one look :D

Anyway we returned to the Capsule hotel, took a shower (which btw!?!?? Had a door towards the back of the showers which was a small hall where it connected to all the other showers cabins?!? So if you wanted you could just walk into another one through there? Weird) and now I’m in my capsule again. Last night, I’m going to miss you a little bit Capsule #519, the privacy was really nice, but then again we’ll get more room for our suitcases tomorrow which is in return a lot nicer than the space here. We were on the ground of the locker room organizing our stuff for tomorrow and we were lucky it’s so calm in here as there are not a lot of people so we could use the space we needed XD

For tomorrow it’s hoping we can leave our luggage behind at the next hotel (which is literally maybe 50M further into the same street XD So stupid, we didn’t even notice while booking for hotels) and then we want to go to Kinkaku-ji, the Golden Pavillion and it’s surrounding landmarks such as Ryoan-ji temple, famous for it’s Zen Gardens.

Sweet dreams~ and bon appetite for your dinner later as it’s around 4PM when I upload this~

Byebye!

おはよう
O-ha-yo(u)!
~ Good morning!

~Yaru

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Japan, Kyoto

Yaru

Profile to save and cherish all the experiences and stories from Japan! - Japan, March 2020

Actief sinds 19 Jan. 2020
Verslag gelezen: 151
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2900

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Maart 2020 - 31 Maart 2020

JAPAN2020

Landen bezocht: